Traditional leaders

Just as the system of co-operative government was developed in acknowledgement of the diversity of the needs and concerns of the population of South Africa, so the Constitution established the right of communities living under traditional law and custom to influence the way in which the country is run. Houses of Traditional Leaders have been established at national level and in some provinces to carry out an advisory role in government. There are provincial Houses of Traditional Leaders in six provinces - Eastern Cape, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo Province, Mpumalanga and North West. Each provincial House nominates three members to the National House of Traditional Leaders, which elects its own office-bearers. The National House advises the national government on the role of traditional leaders and on customary law. It may also conduct its own investigations and advise the President on request.
Using SAinfo material Want to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material


Helping the media cover the South African story >

Weather forecasts

South Africa weather forecasts

Snap daily forecasts for 20 cities and
towns. >