One new cap for Bafana vs Malawi

12 December 2012

Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund has named a 24-man squad to face Malawi in an international friendly match at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on 22 December, less than a month before the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations kicks off.

It features the core of the team that lost 1-0 to defending African champions Zambia in the Nelson Mandela Challenge at Johannesburg's FNB Stadium last month.

Midfielder Ayanda Patosi is the only newcomer in the squad, with defender Tsepo Masilela making a comeback into the team after a long lay-off due to injury.

Making waves

Patosi has been making waves for Lokeren in the Belgium Pro League. Earlier this year, in March, Bafana Bafana defender, Anele Ngcongca, who is also based in Belgium, told Kickoff the 19-year-old midfielder is a future national team player. His words have now been turned into reality.

Also returning after a long absence from the national team are Russia-based defender Siyanda Xulu and Orlando Pirates duo of goalkeeper Senzo Meyiwa and forward Daine Klate.

"This is the last chance for me and my technical team to have a final look at what we have at our disposal. The time for observing and assessing the players is almost over, and I believe this match will give us an indication of where we are and where we are going," Igesund said.


Bafana will assemble for a camp on Wednesday, 19 December, in Johannesburg and will fly to Durban on Thursday, 20 December.

They will have two training sessions - one on Thursday evening at People's Park and the second on Friday morning (21 December) at the match venue.

The coach has also announced a further 12 players that will go into a mini-training camp in Johannesburg from 27 to 30 December, where he will have a last look at the players.

The men in that group are Eric Mathoho, Darren Keet, Anele Ngcongca, Andile Jali, Teko Modise, Bongani Khumalo, Ricardo Nunes, Thulani Serero, Katlego Mphela, Benny McCarthy, Dean Furman and Kagisho Dikgacoi.

Afcon squad

The final 23-man for the 2013 African Nations Cup (Afcon) team will be announced after the camp on Sunday, 30 December.

"We initially intended to name the final squad after the match against Norway on 9 January next year, but after careful consideration, we have decided to name the squad at the end of our upcoming December camp, so that when we start the January camp we have all the players we are going to use in the Afcon tournament.

"That will enable them to play together the last two preparation matches against Norway and Algeria," said Igesund.


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Wayne Sandilands, Senzo Meyiwa

Defenders: Bevan Fransman, Thabo Nthethe, Siyabonga Sangweni, Siyanda Xulu, Siboniso Gaxa, Tshepo Masilela, Thabo Matlaba

Midfielders: Oupa Manyisa, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Sifiso Myeni, Thanduyise Khuboni, May Mahlangu, Delron Buckley and Lerato Chabangu

SAinfo reporter

Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material

Print this page Send this article to a friend

South African Government Online   •   South African Tourism   •   South African National Parks   •   Wines of South Africa
South African Broadcasting Corporation   •   South African Airways   •   JSE   •   Business Unity South Africa

Site published for Brand South Africa by Big Media Publishers