South Africa to host Champions League

28 June 2012

South Africa has been confirmed as the host of the 2012 edition of the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) tournament, the richest club cricket event in the world, featuring the top domestic teams from all the big cricketing nations.

This will be the second time that South Africa hosts the event - a joint initiative between India, South Africa and Australia that first took place in 2009 - after successfully hosting it in 2010. India was the host in 2009 and 2011.

"South Africa will host CLT20 this year. All other details to follow soon," Sundar Raman, a member of the CLT20's technical committee, wrote on his Twitter page on Tuesday, confirming the shifting of the tournament from India.

Johannesburg, Centurion, Cape Town and Durban will be the venues for the US$6-million tournament

According to ESPN Cricinfo, this year's tournament will feature the Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai Indians, all from the Indian Premier League; the Titans and Lions from South Africa; the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers from Australia's Big Bash League; New Zealand's Auckland Aces, and West Indies' Trinidad & Tobago.

Pakistan's Sialkot Stallions, winners of the domestic Faysal Bank T20 Cup, will this year be the first team from Pakistan to participate in the CLT20.

"The representatives from Sri Lanka and England will be decided after next month's Sri Lanka Premier League and the ongoing Friends Life t20," ESPN Cricinfo reported.

Australia's New South Wales Blues won the tournament in 2009, with Indian Premier League franchises Chennai Super Kings (2010) and Mumbai Indians (2011) winning the next two events.

SAinfo reporter

Print this page Send this article to a friend

Johannesburg's Wanderers Cricket Stadium, affectionately known as 'The Bullring' because of its electric atmosphere when big matches take place there (Photo:

SAinfo in your mailbox

SAinfo in your mailbox

Our best stories of the week, free to your e-mail box.

South African Government Online   •   South African Tourism   •   South African National Parks   •   Wines of South Africa
South African Broadcasting Corporation   •   South African Airways   •   JSE   •   Business Unity South Africa

Site published for Brand South Africa by Big Media Publishers